Employees of Distinction Honored

District Finalists Announced for Teacher, Support, and Principals of the Year
Posted on 10/26/2017
Ouachita Parish Schools joined with community members and business leaders to celebrate the accomplishments of more than 70 school system employees during the annual Adopt-A-School Employees of Distinction Banquet. Honorees from each school were recognized, and announcements made for 2017-18 Ouachita Parish Teachers of the Year, Support Employees of the Year, and Principals of the Year at Elementary, Middle School, and High School levels.

2017-18 Finalists:

Teachers of the Year

Teachers of the Year
Pictured with Superintendent Don Coker
Theresa Ross, Sterlington Elementary
Jared Peters, Good Hope Middle
Amber Coleman, Ouachita Parish High

Support Employees of the Year

Support Employees of the Year
Kathy Ramsey, George Welch Elementary
Melinda Weems, Woodlawn Junior High
Joanna Cox, West Monroe High

Principals of the Year

Principals of the Year
Lisa Vige, Lenwil Elementary
Jennifer Nichols, West Ridge Middle
Shelby Ainsworth, West Monroe High

The Employees of Distinction program is coordinated by the West Monroe - West Ouachita Chamber of Commerce Adopt-A-School Committee. Area business and community leaders generously donate time and sponsorship funding to make the event memorable for the honorees. The 2017-18 banquet was sponsored by the following generous donors:

Reginald & Maggie Fontana
Ouachita Independent Bank
TBA Studio Architecture, APC
Albritton Photography
American Medical Response
Bayou Bowl
Centric Federal Credit Union
Macaroni Kid
Ouachita Valley Federal Credit Union
Pilot Club of the Twin Cities
Progressive Bank
Standard Wireless Group
State Representative Frank Hoffmann
State Representative Jay Morris
State Senator Mike Walsworth
The Wellness Center
Thomas W. Hatten, Architect

Attendees to the banquet were treated to jazz music by West Ouachita High School band members under the direction of teacher, Cliff Liner. West Monroe High School ProStart program students were in attendance to serve the meal for the evening, under the direction of their instructor, Mrs. Trish Thompson. Color Guard services were provided by West Monroe High School Air Force Junior ROTC students, under the leadership of Colonel Brian Buck.

Congratulations to all of the honorees who were chosen to represent their schools in the competition program. Ouachita Parish Schools are blessed to have excellent faculty and staff throughout the district. Finalists chosen for Teacher and Principal of the Year may continue on to compete in the Louisiana Department of Education Awards Program for their respective categories.

2017-18 Employees of Distinction




Boley Elementary

Debbie Bryan

Cindy Rayborn

Calhoun Elementary

Melinda Clingen

Sharon Ardizzone

Calhoun Middle

Lauren Howe

Mark Pike

Central Elementary

Stephanie McNair

Shirley Brandao

Claiborne Elementary

Jessica Robbins

Megan Kyle

Crosley Elementary

Leigh Ann Helams

Chanda Montague

Drew Elementary

Terie King

John Frost, III

East Ouachita Middle

Sarah Colvin

Leslie Nelson

George Welch Elementary

Nicole Waldrop

Kathy Ramsey

Good Hope Middle

Jared Peters

Danielle Benson

Highland Elementary

Donna Hatten

Tamie Roberts

Jack Hayes Elementary

Tracie Bryant

Tommy Parsons

Kiroli Elementary

Laurie Graves

Christi Wiggins

Lakeshore Elementary

Raleigh Rogers

Leah Shows

Lenwil Elementary

Chasity Works

Tamara Usery

Ouachita Junior High

Amy Willis

Nelwyn Fontana

Ouachita Parish Alternative

Cynthia Hardin

Vera Lewis

Ouachita Parish High

Amber Coleman

Debbie O’Neal

Pinecrest Elementary

Crystal Clampit

Sandra Davis

Richwood High

Cynthia Franklin

Rochele Walker

Richwood Middle

Angela Gholston

Charles Williams, Jr.

Riser Elementary

Jessica McKinley

Candy Taverne

Riser Middle

Erica Foust

Pamela Walton

Riverbend Elementary

Misty Holyfield

Charles Carter

Robinson Elementary

Glenn Kline

Naomi Sellers

Shady Grove Elementary

Tracy Cargile

Mattie Smith

Sterlington Elementary

Theresa Ross

Anitra McCall

Sterlington High

Bucky Chandler

Keith Knight

Sterlington Middle

Robbie Evans

Brandy Hancock

Swartz Lower Elementary

Lacie Carter

Erica Christianson

Swartz Upper Elementary

Carine Dixon

Deanna Mulhearn

Swayze Elementary

Jennifer White

Daphne Hamilton

West Monroe High

Brian Buck

Joanna Cox

West Ouachita High

Bonnie Baxter

Kristine Bricker

West Ridge Middle

Jennifer McCorkle

Samuel Wyatt, Jr.

Woodlawn Elementary

Brittany Ellis

Rhonda Blakely

Woodlawn Junior High

David DeMoss

Melinda Weems

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.